Rawmarsh Community School

Key Stage 4 Results 2019

There have been five consecutive years of changes to examinations and performance tables which have come into effect, which mean that the performance tables cannot be compared like for like with those of previous years.

In the summer of 2017, the tables were changed and new headline measures were introduced:

  • Progress across 8 qualifications (Progress 8)
  • Attainment across the same 8 qualifications (Attainment 8)
  • Percentage of pupils achieving a grade 5 or above in English and maths

The government will also report on the percentage of students achieving both a “good pass” (grade 5 or above), and a “standard pass” (grade 4 or above) in English (Language or Literature) and Maths. Students achieving below a grade 4 will be required to continue to study English and/or Maths post- 16 until a “standard pass” is achieved.

Plus those who have achieved the English Baccalaureate “Ebacc” at grade 5/C or above. The EBacc is a combination of subjects which the government believes to be the foundation of a good academic education. At Rawmarsh, these subjects are offered but not all are compulsory The EBacc must include: English, maths, two sciences, history or geography and a Modern Foreign Language.

In 2017, students sat the first of the reformed GCSEs in Maths, English Language and English Literature which are graded 9-1 rather than A*-G. These courses are 100% final exam, with no controlled assessment. All other GCSEs remain A*-G, with approximately half reforming for 2018, and the remainder for 2019.

Progress 8

Attainment 8

Grade 5 or above in English and Maths GCSE

Achieving EBacc at grade 5/C or above

Book your appointments for Y11 Parents Evening now! CLICK HERE