“We aim to send all young people into an ever-changing world able and qualified to play their full part in it.”


News  |  Features  |  Events

RCS Sports Awards Evening 2022

On Friday 24th June, we held the RCS Sports Award Presentation Evening at New York Stadium.

The evening started with our special guest who is very close to our hearts… Our very own Ben Wiles from Rotherham United Football Club.

Ben was always destined to flourish in the sporting world from a young age. When Ben was a student at Rawmarsh he was an exceptional cricketer and footballer and he picked up numerous Footballer and Cricketer of the Year awards and by 2015 – when Ben was in Y11 – he won the top award of Sports Personality of the Year.

Having developed through the Youth Academy at Rotherham United, it wasn’t long before Ben progressed into the first team and in 2017 made his debut for his hometown club.

Ben had his breakthrough season in 2018/2019 and he topped that off by winning the Rotherham United Young Player of the Season award.

It was great to see Rotherham succeeding in being promoted to the Championship last season.

Ben was an integral part of the team’s success, turning out for the Millers 53 times, this being the highest number of appearances by any player at the club last season. Ben has so far made 143 appearances for the club and scored 15 goals, the first of his career coming in August 2019 against Tranmere Rovers.

The evening was a celebration of all the sporting successes throughout this year and the evening was a huge success with extremely talented students. Everyone involved should be really proud of themselves.

Football Award Winners

Y7 – Jacob Houghton
Y8 – Anthony Chambers
Y9 – Jack Woodcock
Y10 – Zak Angell
Y7 – Mia Atkinson
Y8 – Robyn Payne

Leading Goal Scorer

Jack Woodcock

Netball Award Winners

Y7 – Nancy Wilkins
Y8 – Lydia Wilkins
Y9 – Alexis Driver
Y10 – Miya Marshall

Dancer of the Year

Hannah Surtees

Rounders Award Winners

Y7 – Mufaro Chiunye
Y8 – Paige Townsend
Y9 – Amy McKerrow

Cricket Award Winners

Y7 – Owen Hodkin
Y8 – Thomas Wing

Climber of the Year Award Winners – Brogan Ellis
& Tommy Eccles

Athlete of the Year Winners

Marci Walsh & Mischa Walsh

7 Cross Country Award Winners

Marci Walsh & Mischa Walsh

Commitment to Extra-Curriular Winners

Evie Mottershead & Lydia Wilkins

RAYLs Award Winners

Sophie Fisher & Cohan Rhule

Most Promising Newcomers

Nancy Wilkins & Xander Gunn

Fair Play In Sports Award

Courtney Atkin

Contribution to School Sports Award

Frida Mema

Achievement in Sport Award

Laura-Jean Skelton

Leadership in Sport Award

Alexis Driver

Sports Personality of the Year Award

Millie Bartrop

Take a look at some of the photos from the night below.

Rawmarsh White Logo - Fully Transparent
Rawmarsh White Logo - Fully Transparent

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience.